Planning Committee

The content of BuildingEnergy NYC is curated by a volunteer committee of NESEA members, who collectively put in hundreds of hours throughout the year to ensure that sessions are data-driven, diverse and genuinely useful to attendees. To be a part of this year's planning committee, contact Miriam Aylward, Program Director, at

2017 Conference Co-Chairs

Eric Davis is currently a Specialist in Con Edison’s Commercial Demand Response Programs, where he works with the largest buildings in New York City to temporarily reduce their electricity usage during the hottest days of the year. Prior to joining Con Edison, Eric co-founded EnerKnol, an energy policy data and analytics company based in New York City. Eric received a bachelor’s degree in Mining and Minerals Engineering from Virginia Tech.


Ryan Cassidy is the Director of Properties for RiseBoro Community Partnership (formerly Ridgewood Bushwick Senior Citizens Council), where he oversees the operation of over 1,800 units of affordable housing in nearly 200 buildings. Ryan has also developed and monitored the construction of over 1,000 units of affordable housing. His development experience ranges from two-family home ownership programs to large multi-family complexes with retail and community facility components. He supervised the construction of the first multifamily Passive Houses in New York State and is a PHIUS Certified Passive House Consultant.


2017 Session Champions

Amelia Amon, Alt. Technica
Chris Benedict, Chris Benedict, R.A.
Stuart Brodsky, NYU Schack Institute of Real Estate
Loic Chappoz, NYSERDA
H.G. Chissell, Advanced Energy Group
Mark Crowdis, 127 Energy
Eric Davis, Con Edison
Christopher Diamond, NYC Department of Design and Construction
Ellen Honigstock, Urban Green Council
Bomee Jung, Cadence OneFive
Ken Levenson, The Passive House Network (PHN)
Gwen McLaughlin, NYSERDA
Lauren Moss, Vornado Realty Trust
Nora Sherman, CUNY Building Performance Lab
Leia Sims, BlocPower, LLC
Charles Umberger, Con Edison