BE the Future Student Scholarship

BE the Future scholarship recipients, BuildingEnergy NYC Conference + Trade Show 2016

In 2016, we launched BE the Future, a scholarship supporting current students' entry into the NESEA community. To date, we have welcomed more than 60 students through this initiative.  Each student receives a one-year NESEA membership, a day-pass to a BuildingEnergy Conference, registration for a BuildingEnergy Pro Tour of their choosing. This scholarship is funded through the support of sponsors. For information about becoming a BE the Future Sponsor, please contact Florence at


Congratulations to the Fall 2017 BE the Future Scholarship Recipients

Sylvana Carrasco,  City College of New York

Alexander Fazzino, Eastern Connecticut State University

Elizabeth Font, Columbia University

Marija Krstic, City College of New York

Nevin Murray, Greenfield Community College

Sokratis Papadopoulos, New York University

Rufei Wang, Atelier Ten USA LLC,


Thank you to the individuals and businesses listed below for their generous support of this scholarship in Spring 2017.

Advanced Building Analysis

Auburndale Builders

Bob Irving of RH Irving Homebuilders


Bruss Project Management


Celebration Green Design & Build

Craig Maynard

DEAP Energy Group

David Matero Architecture

Fred Davis Corporation

Garland Mill Timberframes

Jenna Ide

Jim Kirby

John Gordon, Architect

Kaplan Thompson Architects


Kent Hicks Construction

Kolbert Building

Landmark Services

Max Horn

New Energy Works

Pat Cooke Fund

Taggart Construction

Richard Renner | Architects

Saheel Chandrani

South Mountain Company


Sungage Financial

Thompson Johnson Woodworks

Trillium Architects




If you have any questions about the BE the Future scholarship, please contact

Our Mission

NESEA advances the adoption of sustainable energy practices in the built environment by cultivating a community where practitioners share, collaborate and learn.